Juliane Diller

Juliane Diller was born in Lima in 1954 and grew up in Peru. In 1968 she accompanied her parents into the lowland rainforest to the biological station “Panguana”, where they explored the primeval forest, which was hardly known at the time.

After the early death of her mother due to a plane crash in the Peruvian jungle on Christmas Eve 1971, which she was the only one to survive, she moved to Germany in 1972, finished school and studied biology in Kiel and Munich. She conducted the field studies for her diploma thesis on day butterflies and her dissertation on bats in Panguana (see publications). In 2000, after the death of her father, she took over the management of the station and today regularly organizes research expeditions there.

Juliane Diller has been working at the Zoologische Staatssammlung München (ZSM) since 1989, where she manages the large specialist library and is deputy director. She has lived with her husband near Munich for over 30 years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Juliane Diller

Juliane Diller, geborene Koepcke kam 1954 in Lima zur Welt und wuchs in Peru auf. 1968 begleitete sie ihre Eltern in den Tieflandregenwald auf die biologische Station „Panguana“, wo diese den damals noch kaum bekannten Urwald erforschten.

Nach dem frühen Tod ihrer Mutter durch einen Flugzeugabsturz im peruanischen Dschungel am Heiligabend 1971, den sie selbst als Einzige überlebte, zog sie 1972 nach Deutschland, beendete die Schule und studierte in Kiel und München Biologie. Die Feldstudien für ihre Diplomarbeit über Tagschmetterlinge und ihre Dissertation über Fledermäuse führte sie in Panguana durch (siehe Publikationen). 2000 übernahm sie nach dem Tod ihres Vaters die Leitung der Station und organisiert heute regelmäßig Forschungsexpeditionen dorthin.

Juliane Diller arbeitet seit 1989 an der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München (ZSM), wo sie die große Fachbibliothek leitet und stellvertretende Direktorin ist. Sie lebt mit ihrem Mann seit über 30 Jahren in der Nähe von München.

Hinterlasse ein Kommentar

Deine Email-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.